All spots filled for Pony League World Series

August 7, 2017

The field is set for the Pony League World Series that begins Friday at Lew Hays Pony Field in Washington Park.

Youngstown, Ohio, was the final team to earn a spot in the 10-team field when it won a pair of elimination games Monday to garner the Host Area championship. Youngstown entered the day with one loss in the double-elimination tournament and had to beat undefeated Johnstown twice to earn a spot in Washington.

Youngstown, sparked by an eight-run inning, won the opening game, 15-5, to force the “if necessary” game. Youngstown erased an 8-4 deficit after two innings, took a 9-8 lead in the sixth and won 13-10.

Youngstown will play in the late game (8 p.m.) Friday night against East Zone champion Hagerstown, Md. The world series begins 5:30 p.m. Friday with Mexico Zone champion Guasave, Sinaloa, against Caribbean Zone winner Levittown, P.R., at 5:30 p.m. Opening ceremonies will be held between games.

Three games are scheduled for Saturday, starting with South Zone champion Brownsville, Texas, against North Zone champion Bay County, Mich. Washington County will play its opening game at 2:30 p.m. Saturday against European Zone winner The Netherlands. The final game in the tripleheader will be Asia-Pacific Zone champion Seoul, Korea, against the Guasave-Levittown winner.

Covina, Calif., the West Zone champion, will not play until noon Sunday against the Netherlands-Washington County winner.

World Series activities begin Thursday evening with a FanFest that will be held at Dick’s Sporting Goods from 6-7:30 p.m. World Series teams, the Pirate Parrot and Bucco Brigade will be in attendance and fans can take part in interactive games. The Home Run Derby and Fastest Runner competition will be held 11 a.m. Friday at Pony Field.



blog comments powered by Disqus