MVH receives quality achievement award for stroke care

September 23, 2017
Image description
Monongahela Valley Hospital recently received the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association’s Get with the Guidelines-Stroke Gold Plus Quality Achievement Award with Target: Stroke Honor Roll. The award recognizes the hospital’s commitment to providing the most appropriate stroke treatment according to nationally recognized, research-based guidelines based on the latest scientific evidence. Hospitals must achieve 85 percent or higher adherence to all Get with the Guidelines-Stroke achievement indicators for two or more consecutive 12-month periods, and achieve 75 percent or higher compliance with five of eight Get with the Guidelines-Stroke Quality measures to receive the Gold Plus Quality Achievement Award. To qualify for the Target: Stroke Honor Roll, hospitals must meet quality measures developed to reduce the time between the patient’s arrival at the hospital and treatment with the clot-buster tissue plasminogen activator, the only drug approved by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration to treat ischemic stroke. If given intravenously in the first three hours after the start of stroke symptoms, tPA has been shown to significantly reduce the effects of stroke and lessen the chance of permanent disability. MVH earned the award by meeting specific quality achievement measures for the diagnosis and treatment of stroke patients at a set level for a designated period. MVH has also met specific scientific guidelines as a Primary Stroke Center or as a Comprehensive Stroke Center, featuring a comprehensive system for rapid diagnosis and treatment of stroke patients admitted to the emergency department. Participating in the presentation are, front row, from left, registered nurse Kathleen Slebodnik, nurse manager; Kristen Pergola, data quality manager, Utilization Review; Kelly Macheska of the American Heart Association; registered nurse Maggie Timko, stroke care coordinator; Gina Hrach, director of quality and systems improvement, American Heart Association/American Stroke Association; registered nurse Natalee Peters, emergency department; and Jan Forlini, director, imaging services; and back row, Becky Kahl, data quality abstractor, Utilization Review; registered nurse Emilee Hawk, emergency department; registered nurse Kevin Claybaugh, Cardiac Care Unit; registered nurse Sherry Watkins, assistant vice president of nursing; registered nurse Jeff Bomba, nurse manager of the Intensive Care Unit; and Dave Ray, supervisor, computed tomography.



blog comments powered by Disqus