W.Va. individual assistance request rejected

  • Associated Press December 13, 2012

CHARLESTON, W.Va. – The federal government has denied assistance for residents in six West Virginia counties hit by Superstorm Sandy.

Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin had requested individual assistance for residents of Fayette, Nicholas, Preston, Randolph, Tucker and Webster counties.

The state has 30 days to appeal. Governor’s office spokeswoman Amy Shuler Goodwin said Thursday that state officials plan to appeal and have been gathering additional materials for FEMA.

The October storm dumped more than 2 feet of snow in parts of the state, left seven people dead and knocked out electricity to more than a quarter-million customers, some for two weeks.

Last month President Barack Obama issued a disaster declaration to help local governments and certain nonprofit groups in 18 counties recover from Sandy-related damage.


blog comments powered by Disqus

State police say they’ve found cop-killing suspect’s rifle

Pittsburgh zoo closed by power outage, transformer problem

Kane turns to former Maryland AG to lead porn email probe

Pennsylvania GOP says Trump fundraiser isn’t an endorsement

Appalachia grasps for hope as coal loses its grip

Court rejects appeal of sex offender caught on secret camera

Families: Three dead in Pennsylvania crash were hunting buddies

Police back slain officer’s actions

’12 Days of Christmas’ items top $34,000

Pennsylvania’s rifle deer season starts