Election roundup

May 22, 2013


Canonsburg Mayor David Rhome easily swatted away a primary election challenge by a political newcomer Tuesday night.

Rhome defeated Tracy Lee Weishner on the Democratic ballot of the election primary and will now face Republican Anthony Ross in the November general election.

He first won election to the seat in 2009. Weishner, a lifelong Canonsburg resident who previously worked as a custodian, had never run for political office before this election.

By late Tuesday night, Rhome had secured more than 85 percent of the votes on the Democratic ballot.

Cecil Township

Cindy Fisher won the Democratic nomination for one seat on the Cecil Township Board of Supervisors.

Fisher had close to 47 percent of the vote compared to Frank Egizio’s total of 37 percent. James Passieu had only 16 percent of the vote.

There were no candidates on the Republican side of the ballot, although it is possible that a write-in candidate could secure a position in the general election.


John Mollenauer easily defeated a crowded field on the Democratic ballot for Charleroi mayor.

Mollenauer received close to 47 percent and beat his closest challenger, Marcus Carroll, who finished with 36 percent.

Incumbent Mayor Nancy Ellis came in the third and received just 13 percent of the vote.

Frank Paterra finished in last with about 4 percent of the vote.

No Republicans were running for mayor in the primary.

Meanwhile, in the race between nine candidates for four seats on Charleroi Council, Larry Celaschi led the Democrats with 19 percent of the vote. Terrence Newstrom and Paul Pivovarnik tied for second with 17 percent each, while Edward Bryner finished fourth with 13 percent.

Peters Township School Board

Four seats are available on Peters Township School Board and Jamison Hardy, Lisa Anderson, Rebecca Bowman and Sue Smith led the way on the Republican ballot.

Hardy and Anderson received the most votes on the Republican ballots with more than 17 percent.

Anderson, Smith, Bowman and David Hvizdos won the nominations on the Democratic side of the ballot.

Anderson received 21 percent of the vote and was followed closely by Smith, who received 18 percent.

Ringgold School Board

Sherrie Crawley, Christopher Carro and William Stein Jr. secured the nominations on both the Democratic and Republican ballots for three at-large spots on Ringgold School Board.

Lawrence Mauro won the race at-large for the Democratic nomination and will face Jason Gerard, who won the Republican primary.

In region two, Carol Fida Flament won both the Democratic and Republican nominations for one seat.

In region three, Maureen Ott won both the Democratic and Republican nominations for one seat.

Trinity Area School Board

Frances Eates and Joseph Labella won the two nominations for both the Democratic and Republican ballots for region one of Trinity Area School Board.

In region two, Thomas Durbin easily defeated Sandra Clutter for one seat on the board.

In region three, Edmund Trapuzzano defeated his challengers on both the Democratic and Republican ballots for one seat on the school board.



blog comments powered by Disqus