Wild Things’ Beatty named All-Frontier League Team

Wild Things’ Beatty named to All-Frontier League team

September 1, 2013

For the first time in four years, a Wild Things player has made the All-Frontier League team.

Washington’s C.J. Beatty, who is among the league leaders in eight offensive categories, was selected as the all-league second baseman in a vote of Frontier League coaches, general managers and media. He is the first Washington player since designated hitter Jacob Dempsey in 2009 to garner all-league honors.

The Frontier League announced its all-league team Sunday.

Beatty leads the league in total bases (192) and extra-base hits (47), is second in slugging percentage (.570) and third in hits (106). A Winston-Salem, N.C., native and former St. Louis Cardinals minor leaguer as an outfielder, Beatty also is in the top five in the league in home runs (18), RBI (65) and doubles (26). His .315 batting average ranks ninth in the league.

Beatty is in his first season with Washington. He was signed as a free agent in the offseason after playing in Australia last winter with former Wild Things pitcher Chris Smith.

Beatty admitted this season was his “career year.”

“I had high expectations for myself. I wanted to be the best player that I know I can be,” Beatty said. “I wanted to show up early and stay late. My goal was to hit .300 with 25 doubles and double-digit home runs. Those were my goals and I accomplished them. This year was a dream come true.”

Florence third baseman Jacob Tanis, who has 17 home runs and a league-leading 72 RBI, won the Frontier League Morgan Burkhart Most Valuable Player award. Traverse City’s Scott Dunn (15-1), a Hookstown native and South Side Beaver High School graduate, won the Brian Tollberg Pitcher of the Year award.

Other award winners were Schaumburg’s Jamie Bennett (Manager of Year), Evansville’s Boots Day (Coach of Year), River City catcher Danny Canella (Rookie of Year), Southern Illinois second baseman Cannon Lester (Fran Riordan Citizenship) and Evansville’s Joel Padfield (Executive of Year).

The West Division champion Schaumburg Boomers were chosen as the Organization of the Year.

The Observer-Reporter was named the league’s Newspaper of the Year.

Rounding out the all-league team are Lake Erie first baseman Russell Moldenhauer; Normal shortstop Patrick McKenna; outfielders Jon Myers of Gateway, Nick Akins of Joliet and Daniel Bowman of Lake Erie; Schaumburg designated hitter Steve McQuail; Gateway catcher Landon Hernandez and Evansville relief pitcher Eric Massingham.

Hernandez was named all-league for the third time.

Akins played in eight games for Washington early in the season before being released. He signed with Joliet and is second in the league with 20 home runs.

Chris Dugan has been covering local sports for more than 30 years and has been with the Observer-Reporter since 1986. He was named sports editor in 2006. Before joining the O-R, he was sports editor at the Democrat-Messenger in Waynesburg. He is a former member of the Baseball Writers Association of America. If you have an idea for a story, send him an email at dugan@observer-reporter.com.

View More from this Author



blog comments powered by Disqus