Wrestling roundup: Jefferson-Morgan gets 4th straight section title

January 22, 2014

Jefferson-Morgan got nine pins on the way to a 54-30 win over host Derry in the Section 2-AA team tournament finals, giving the Rockets their fourth consecutive section title.

Earning pins for the Rockets were Damon Belford (106), Brendan Howard (113), John Demaske (132), Trevor Kniha (152), Ryan Zalar (160), Bill Bowlen (170), Jeff Jento (195), Anthony Patterson (220) and Ian Wolfe (Hvy)

Derry received pins from George Phillippi (120), Stone Kepple (126) and Devin Siko (138) in the finals.

The Rockets defeated Yough, 49-21, in the semifinal round behind four pins. Belford, Howard, Bowlen and Wolfe led Jefferson-Morgan into the finals.

Bentworth 45, Yough 30: Bentworth won eight of 14 bouts to defeat Yough, 45-30, in the third-place match at the Section 2-AA team tournament.

Hunter Neely (106) had the Bearcats’ lone pin, while Yough failed to pin a Bentworth wrestler.

Bentworth lost in the semifinals to Derry, 43-30. Neely, Matthew Vickless (132), Ethan Tush (170) and Mason Shumaker (Hvy) got pins for the Bearcats.

Chartiers-Houston 36, Freedom 30: Chartiers-Houston got three pins on the way to a 36-30 win over Freedom to finish in fifth place in the Section 1-AA team tournament and earn a spot in next week’s WPIAL tournament.

Getting pins for the Bucs were RJ Hall (145), Pete Provenzano (160) and Derek Hull (17). Chartiers-Houston won seven of 13 bouts.

Dean Ward (132) had Freedom’s lone pin.

Southmoreland 41, West Greene 37: Southmoreland won seven of 14 bouts on the way to a 41-37 win over West Greene to garner fifth place in the Section 2 team tournament.

Getting pins for the Scotties were Cole Lambie (106) and Zach Bixler (132), and Jordan Beltz (138) recorded a technical fall. Brenden Hernley (160) won by forfeit in the final bout to give Southmoreland the victory.

Sheldon Phillips (126) and Jeremy Coffman (Hvy) had pins for West Greene.



blog comments powered by Disqus