J-M wrestlers ousted from team tournament by Fort LeBoeuf

February 4, 2014

WATERFORD – Washington and Greene counties will not have a representative at Hershey’s Giant Center for the PIAA Wrestling Team Tournament Thursday.

Jefferson-Morgan, the two-county area’s lone representative in the state tournament, was knocked out Tuesday night, 47-19, by Fort LeBeouf in the Class AA preliminary round.

South Fayette, the WPIAL Class AA runner-up, is the only team from the O-R coverage area remaining in the team tournament.

Jefferson-Morgan held only one lead against Fort LeBoeuf, the runner-up in District 10, as Jason Miller (138) gave the Rockets a 4-0 lead in the match’s first bout.

Fort LeBoeuf won the next three bouts to forge a 15-4 lead and never trailed the rest of the way.

Jefferson-Morgan did pull to within 15-13 after Ryan Zalar pinned Jacob Lathrop in the third period at 170 pounds and Bill Bowlen was a 6-1 winner over Andrew Rose at 182.

Fort LeBoeuf, however, secured the victory by winning the next six bouts, including two by fall and two by major decision.

The only other bout won by J-M was John Demaske’s pin of Adam Borgia in 1:02 at 126. The win improved Demaske’s season record to 31-0. Demaske is the O-R’s top-ranked Class AA wrestler in his weight class.



blog comments powered by Disqus