South Fayette big winner at Coach of Year Banquet

April 27, 2014

South Fayette High School’s march to the PIAA Class AA football title paid off in many ways. The latest was Joe Rossi being named Football Coach of the Year at Sunday’s Tri-County Athletic Directors Coach of the Year Banquet at the DoubleTree at Hilton.

Rossi was one of two South Fayette coaches to win as Rick Chaussard was selected as Wrestling Coach of the Year.

Other coach winners were Don Hartman of California in baseball; Michele Moeller of Canon-McMillan in softball; Joe Salvino of Monessen in boys basketball; and Chris Minerd of California in girls basketball.

The baseball and softball awards were based on the 2013 season.

Andrew Mayer received the Meghan Canterna Memorial Award as Special Olympics Athlete of the Year.

The Bill Christy Memorial Award for Excellence in Officiating went to Sue Osleger and Rich Kotarsky.

Scot Moore of Jefferson-Morgan was this year’s selection for the Tri-County Athletic Directors’ Award.

Chris Hill of Jefferson-Morgan received the Roy Gillespie Memorial Special Award.

Canon-McMillan’s softball team received the Observer-Reporter Sports Headliner award.

Rebecca Phillips of West Greene was honored with the Bill Christy Sportsmanship Award.

Receiving plaques as Olympic Sports Coach of the Year were Bobby Dyer of Peters Township boys soccer, Teresa Booker of Washington boys track and Joe Winans of South Fayette.

The Tri-County Athletic Directors’ Scholarship Winners were Matt Vickless of Bentworth, Matt Heslin of Fort Cherry, Alec Rideout of Canon-McMillan, Justin Watson of South Fayette, Dalton Wildman of West Greene, Jenna Lucas of Fort Cherry, Kailyn Clancy of California, Olivia Lorusso of Canon-McMillan, Mia Woytovich of Charleroi, and Allyson Younken of Waynesburg.

Special Recognition went to Alayna Astuto, Solomon Chishko, Olivia Lorusso, Dalton Macri, Abby McCartney, Corey McCurdy, Kyra Murphy and Lauren Waller of Canon-McMillan; Brett Brumbaugh, Corey Long and Justin Watson of South Fayette; Kayla Briggs of Chartiers-Houston; Kailyn Clancy of California; Jenna Lucas of Fort Cherry; Sammie Weiss of McGuffey; Clintell Gillaspie of Monessen; Hayden Pascoe of Belle Vernon; Jeremy Perez of Ringgold; Jake Temple of Avella; Alyssa Wise of Washington

Banquet sponsors are Advanced Orthopaedics & Rehabilitation; Morasczyk, Stopperich & Associates; Peacock Keller; Washington County Commissioner Larry Maggi; Dr. Athnony Canterna; and Masters Ink.

Joe Tuscano has been with the Observer-Reporter since 1980. He has covered all sports for the newspaper, including the Steelers, Pirates, Pitt football, local college football and wrestling. He has worked for the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, the Jeannette News-Dispatch and North Hills Record. He graduated from Duquesne University in 1980.

View More from this Author



blog comments powered by Disqus