United Way presents awards to contributors, companies

May 16, 2014
A. Parker Burroughs, center, retired Observer-Reporter executive editor, received United Way’s Liza N. Beale Loyal Contributor Award at the annual campaign celebration luncheon Thursday. Presenting the award were United Way President Barbara Murphy, and Observer-Reporter publisher Tom Northrop. - Photo courtesy of United Way

United Way of Washington County held its annual campaign celebration and awards luncheon at Bella Sera in Canonsburg Thursday. Board Chairman Sheila Cowieson announced the total for the 2013-14 campaign is $1,257,155.

“The generosity of the people and businesses in Washington County who made this possible, is outstanding,” Cowieson said. “Their support and compassion will make it possible for United Way to meet the funding obligations made to local charities that provide programs and services to people in need.”

Loyal contributors, employee campaign managers and companies with multiple leadership givers were recognized.

The Campaign Excellence Award for outstanding campaign practices was presented to Sherwood Valve in Washington. Raffles, breakfasts, lunches and sales of company logo products all helped get great participation among Sherwood employees. Employee Campaign Manager Janie Miller accepted the award.

The President’s Award for the best new campaign was presented to WPX Energy in Southpointe for its first local campaign. Robert Goodman accepted the award on behalf of the company.

The Chairman’s Award recognizes the most successful campaigns and was presented to: Giant Eagle, $124,819; Mylan, $111,858; Range Resources, $105,362; Columbia Gas, $101,916; Noble Energy, $51,238; and Observer Publishing Co., $50,780.

United Way’s volunteer awards were presented by United Way President Barbara Murphy.

• Liza N. Beale Loyal Contributors Award – Presented to A. Parker Burroughs, retired executive editor of the Observer-Reporter. This award recognizes the number of years a person has contributed, not necessarily the amount that has been contributed. Burroughs has been a United Way loyal contributor for 41 years, most of them at the leadership level. He continues to give as a retiree. Tom Northrop, publisher of Observer-Reporter and a cousin of Liza Beale’s, presented the award.

• Alvin C. Janovich Community Leadership Award – Presented to Atria’s Restaurant, Peters Township. Frank and Linda Sam, the proprietors of the McMurray restaurant, are longtime United Way supporters and generously support many local community organizations and youth sports programs.

• M. Kathleen Ramsey Student Volunteer of the Year – Presented to Allison Jo Vogrig, a senior at Canon-McMillan High School, who amassed hundreds of volunteer hours during her high school career. $1,000 scholarship named in honor of Dr. Howard Jack is part of the award. Vogrig will be attending Virginia Tech in the fall.



blog comments powered by Disqus