Pony League World Series field set

August 4, 2014

The field is set for the Pony League World Series, which begins Friday night at Lew Hays Pony Field in Washington Park.

The final two berths to the World Series were filled Monday, when the Johnstown B Hale Boilers won the Host Area championship in McCandless Township and Corpus Christi, Texas, won the South Zone.

Hempfield defeated previously undefeated Johnstown, 11-5, early Monday to force an “if necessary” game, which the Boilers won, 8-3.

Corpus Christi won the South Zone by defeating Brownsville, Texas, 6-3.

The World Series begins 5:30 p.m. Friday when Corpus Christi plays Levittown, Puerto Rico. After the opening ceremonies, North Zone champion Bay County (Mich.) Red will play Johnstown at 8 p.m.

Three games are scheduled for Saturday, including the Washington All-Stars playing European Zone champion Prague, Czech Republic at 2 p.m. The first game of the day matches East Zone champion Chesterfield County, Va., against West Zone representative Hilo, Hawaii, at 11:30 a.m. The final game pits Asia-Pacific Zone champion Chinese Taipei against the South Zone-Levittown winner.

The last team to make its World Series debut will be Mexico Zone champion Los Mochis, Sinaloa, which will play the Washington-Prague winner at 3 p.m. Sunday.



blog comments powered by Disqus